From everyone here at the Sports Palace, we’d like to wish to you the most pleasant Fourth of July possible.

Today’s post will be very short and will not have a whole lot of sports related content because I do not want to take time away from everyone’s cookouts and family gatherings, but I would like to take this time to say a few things.

1. I love this country and the great people that fight to defend it – Because of a busy life that balances between school, work and social events, I sometimes take for granted that I was lucky enough to be born in the best country in the world. But regardless, I’d like to take a minute on this Fourth of July to say I am proud to be an American. And more than just being proud to be an American, I am proud of the men and women who serve in our military. To my friends Jacob, Ryan, Micah and all the others I may be forgetting who are serving the country, thank you for your bravery and courage. It is not lost on anyone.

2. It may be the offseason for all LSU sports and things might be quiet right now on all fronts, but it is a great time to be not just an LSU fan, but a fan of everyone across the SEC. From Vanderbilt to Arkansas, from Florida to Alabama, the SEC is pound-for-pound the deepest and strongest league in the world in all sports and we should all be proud. Rivalries are fierce and we all have our own list of teams that rub us the wrong way, but it is the elite competition and the elite rivalries inside of the SEC that push each school in the league to continue to strive for athletic dominance. What a time to be a fan of a school in the Southeast.

3. I would also like to encourage all of you when you have a spare second in your day to say a little prayer for yourself and for all of our friends across the gulf and Atlantic coasts as we march toward the peak of our hurricane season. We Louisianians know first-hand what can happen as do our friends in Florida, so take a spare second out of your day to ask the man upstairs to give us all protection from the natural disasters that can occur during these months in our area.
______________________

I was going to do headlines today, but decided against it, because really nothing major broke today across sports. I will instead give a list of predictions of things that will happen this weekend. As you all know, I am not the best at predictions (see message archives, so take these for what they are worth).

1. Venus over Serena in straight sets
2. Sox over Yanks three out of four
3. Brett Farve will play next season, but not necessarily for the Packers
4. Former LSU runner Xavier Carter will make the Olympic team in the 200m
5. A major league team will get the wheeling and dealing started prior to the July 31 deadline in the next 7 days. Targets as to who will be the first seller: Pirates, Mariniers and Royals
_________________

That’s all for me guys and gals.

I sincerely hope you all have great days (and great weather) on our special day.

Thanks to all of you who read the site daily and thanks to those of you who are reading for the first time.

