Apparently the cold front that whipped through Baton Rouge this weekend brought with it some change, as the rumors on the streets have LSU co-defensive coordinators Doug Mallory and Bradley Dale Peveto all but fired and some of the rumor mills even have his replacement hired — former Tennessee coordinator John Chavis.

No official announcement has been made. And I don’t suppose that one will be made for a while, but I can tell you this is the direction LSU is leaning toward going.

A potential hiccup in the plan, and what is likely making this drag out is Phil Fulmer. Chavis and Fulmer have worked together for literally two decades and if Fulmer hops on board a major division-I program, it’s hard to imagine Chavis wouldn’t follow.

But assuming that doesn’t happen, I think it’s safe to assume he would receive a ring from Miles and Co., because from what I hear, the pair of coordinators are done.

The other interesting rumor has Ed Orgeron taking over Earl Lane’s post as defensive line coach and also sharing the role of recruiting coordinator position.

This one is probably more far fetched, because this is a lot of history (not much of it good) between Coach O and LSU, but I can say that if he were to come to LSU, the Tigers would be getting a whale of a coach.

And moreso than a whale of a coach, a whale of a recruiter.

The dude did wonders at USC, helping stockpile them into what they have now. He did the same at the U in the 1990s and he was on his way at Ole Miss before being fired.

So we’ll see, but the hot stove is creeping to a boil in Baton Rouge.

For the time being, it’s wait-and-see for the bowl game.

If I had to guess, I’d say LSU’s best bets are the Peach (I will always call it that) or the Music City Bowl, but it’s all up in the air still.
____________________________________

If something breaks tomorrow regarding this situation with the coaching staff, I will let you all know.

If not, I will give a men and women’s basketball update tomorrow!

Have a good one!

